Classroom Clean Up: After

The last two weeks have been hectic to say the least.  I have been moving between professional development workshops, lectures, planning meetings, orientation meetings and trying to tidy up my classroom/ staffroom.  My primary school background results in a bit of a struggle for me when it comes to classroom organisation and having a desk in a separate staffroom.  I am used to “living” in my classroom and having a designated teacher space within the classroom.  Now, I have a teaching space (which is essentially my homeroom) and a desk set up in a staffroom across the walkway that is shared with approximately 10 other staff including teachers, teacher aides, volunteer tutors and our school nurse.  I am slowly getting used to sharing a work space with other adults.  I am slowly getting used to the idea of not having everything at my finger tips in my classroom.

I want to show you how my classroom looked on my first clean up day last week.  I planned to spend a day (7:30am – 3:30pm) in the classroom and get as much done as possible.  Then, I used every spare moment over the week (between PD, meetings etc) doing the rest of the work in the classroom.  I was sure that after the first two days the classroom looked worse than it did in the beginning.  On Tuesday afternoon I left the room with a smile.  I was happy with it, finally.  Bulletin boards and word walls will evolve over time and students will create charts and posters and everything will look very different by the end of the term.  But for now, I’m happy.

I have just started uploading photos for this post and I can’t find the “before” photos that I wanted to show you.  Insert sad frustrated face.  Therefore, you will have to settle for the gallery of after photos.  Check it out.

I have written captions for each of the images, so if you want my lovely commentary, you will need to click on the first photo and it will take you to a slide show which also shows the captions.

That’s That.

I hope you are making progress in your own classrooms.

mel lit coach signature

Leave a Reply

