Just the Beginning

Welcome! 

Let’s begin by telling you why we are all here.  This blog has been bouncing around in the back of my brain for a while now and it is time to get it out.  I have been the literacy coach at a secondary school for the past 3 years.  Although, it wasn’t always called that.  I was incredibly lucky to be considered an expert when I started at the school.  While I knew a great deal more than some, I knew very little 4 years ago compared to what I know now.  I hope that in 4 years time I can say that I know even more.  

The purpose of this blog is to share my past experiences in building the Literacy Coach Role in my school while sharing the knowledge that I have.  I also want to share my learning journey with you.  Everyday, I learn something new. On some days I learn something huge and literacy related (like: reading is not just about words). Sometimes I learn things that are coaching related (like: listen carefully), and sometimes I discover small and silly things (none of which I can remember to give you an example of).  

I hope you come along for the ride and I hope we can learn together on the way.  

Please forgive me while I get used to this new platform and build a more useful tool for both myself and my readers.  

Thanks for dropping in! 

😉 Mel

Leave a Reply

